Color Your Chakras


Colour your chakras

Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without. – Buddha

Most of us spend our lives in search of that elusive inner peace. The constant barrage of stress and competition leaves us unhappy and yearning for more. According to Ayurveda, if any of the chakras in our body are not in balance, it leads to a general feeling of negativity and fatigue, affecting our physical and mental well-being.

Our chakras (meaning ‘wheels’) are the energy centers within our body that control various aspects of our overall health. The seven chakras of the human body are positioned along the spine till the top of the head, forming the basis of human thought and emotion. Each chakra has its significance and a balance in all of them is essential for the smooth functioning of all the systems of our body. An imbalance in the energy of the chakras results in continued discontent and depression.

As with chakras, different colors carry different energies, and they can be used in re-balancing a person’s internal energy level. The seven chakras are represented by seven colors, arranged corresponding to the wavelengths of light, similar to a rainbow. Every person reacts differently to different colors and color combinations – a harmonious one stimulates, a dull one underwhelms and a chaotic one over excites. Understanding how each color affects our chakras can reap huge benefits in our life and productivity. Let’s have a look at what the colors of our chakras signify.

1. Root Chakra – Muldhara

Located at the base of the spine or the perineum, the root chakra is associated with the color red. It is also known as the base chakra and this chakra is the foundation of a person’s health. It controls the feeling of security, and keeps the body and mind stable. We’ve heard how wearing red to interviews can make you feel more in control; it’s because the color red enhances one’s sense of power.

2. Sacral Chakra – Swadhishtana

Located in the lower abdomen or the sacral bone, the sacral chakra is associated with the orange color. This chakra is associated with creativity, resourcefulness and constructive behavior. Orange is known to have a liberating effect on the mind and the color is also associated with general happiness. With the liberating effect, orange is known to free the mind of restrictions and opening it up to new thoughts and possibilities. Orange is often used in activity and amusement areas, since it encourages people to let loose and enjoy themselves.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura  

Located near the upper abdomen or above the navel, yellow is the color that is associated with the solar plexus chakra. This chakra is all about positivity, cheerfulness and self confidence. When the chakra is not in balance it promotes a feeling of anxiety and fear, but when balanced it stimulates interest and energy. Yellow is often referred to as sunny and cheery and is found to help in strengthening the nerves and mind.

4. Heart Chakra – Anahata

Located at the center of the chest and above the heart, green is the color that you associate with the heart chakra. You can associate this chakra with all about love and giving. It is related to nurturing, compassion, sympathy and generosity. These are qualities generally ascribed to Nature, which is in turn associated with the color green. Green has both a soothing as well as an energizing effect, which is why keeping a green plant at your workplace is said to reduce stress and boost productivity.

5. Throat Chakra – Vishudhhi

Located in the throat, this chakra is associated with the blue color. The throat chakra governs speech, communication and self expression. When balanced, it allows you to speak and listen with concentration. Blue is widely considered a soothing color that pacifies the mind and calms the nerves, which in turn helps one to speak openly.

6. Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

Located in the forehead, above the area between the eyes this chakra denotes a person’s sixth sense and is associated with the color indigo. This chakra is said to guide us, enhancing imagination and intuition, seeing things that our regular eyes cannot. The third eye is higher, and thus views the world in another perspective, i.e. the ;big picture. Indigo is in fact a deep midnight blue, carrying the attributes of both blue and violet, and it is said to indicate trust and truthfulness.

7. Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

Located on top of the head, this chakra is denoted with the color violet. This is the top most chakra and the connection of a person to the spiritual world. An open crown chakra means that the person has a clear life purpose and is open to all the wisdom and guidance that the universe has to offer. Meditation helps open up this chakra.

By keeping the chakras balanced, you can ensure a smooth flow of energy throughout your body. Using the right colors can do wonders in opening up the blocked chakras and eliminating negative emotions, leading to a peaceful, creative and balanced life.

Pic Courtesy : Flickr Creative Commons

This article is copyright ©2013 by Omved Lifestyle Pvt.Ltd. This article may be reprinted provided that all credit information remains intact. If you wish to use this article, you must include the reprint credits that are shown on the top and the bottom of the article. If you wish to modify any aspect of the reprint credit or article, or use any other content from our blog, you must first contact us at to request written permission. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here