Are your energy wheels spinning?


Our chakras are whirlpools of energy, spinning at various locations in our bodies and acting as meeting points for our energy channels. When one or more of these chakras are blocked, they manifest as physical illnesses or mental disturbances. The only way to heal ourselves is to open the blocked chakras and restore balance in our bodies.

Why are Your Chakras Blocked?

There are several reasons to explain blockages in your chakras. There might be some trauma or abuse that you haven’t been able to get over or some hurt, anger or a grudge in your subconscious that you aren’t aware of. All of these can contribute to any of the chakras getting blocked and affecting your health.

 Techniques of Opening Blocked Chakras

There are several ways to open blocked chakras. Commonly used techniques are color, crystals, mudras or hand postures, chants and special yoga poses.

Some chakras might be over active, but these needn’t be closed on purpose as they’re just compensating for the underactive chakras. It is recommended to start opening with the Root Chakra, so that you have a strong base.

 1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

This red Chakra is related to a feeling of security, grounding and physicality. It also refers to material needs, and an overactive chakra can make one materialistic and greedy. An underactive chakra manifests as insecurity and anxiety along with laziness and/or aggression.

Opening this chakra requires you to get in touch with your body. Workout or do yoga – the mountain pose is great as it makes you feel more grounded. When meditating, focus on the position of the root chakra, between the genitals and the anus, contracting and releasing with each breath.

Think about what is causing you to feel insecure – a job, finances, relationships – and take steps to fix them. Use affirmations that underline your place in the world, and being at peace with everyone.

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana)

This is the orange Chakra that deals with sexuality, emotions and relationships. When over active, it can make one sensitive and over-emotional and when under active, it can make one seem cold, distant and aloof. They also manifest as pain in the lower abdomen or reproductive troubles.

The sacral chakra is located in your lower abdomen, so hip opening yoga poses like the bound angle pose are ideal. Meditate focusing on the position of the chakra, visualizing the color orange at the same time.

Assess your relationships and see how you can improve them and bring people closer to you. Use affirmations that encourage your passion and love of life.

 3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The yellow chakra dominates a person’s self esteem, willpower, energy and determination. It also regulates the body’s digestion. An overactive Manipura will make you demanding, stubborn and rude while an underactive one will make you timid, mistrustful and under confident, along with causing sluggish metabolism.

The solar plexus is in the stomach region or upper abdomen. The boat pose is good for opening up this chakra. Dancing is also recommended to get rid of inhibitions and build confidence. While meditating, focus on the abdominal muscles, contracting and relaxing.

Believe in yourself and your dreams. Regularly chant positive affirmations that state how capable you are and how you can achieve anything.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

This chakra is green in color and relates to love, understanding, compassion and trust. An overactive heart chakra makes people abnormally over familiar which can seem annoying and an under active one can make one seem cold and pessimistic.

It can also cause problems with blood pressure, circulation and heart beats.

While meditating, focus on your heart and your breathing. Include chest opening poses in your yoga practice like the triangle pose and the bridge pose. Spend time with greenery, preferably in an open natural space.

Try to think of any past hurt that may be holding you back from trusting or empathizing with others. Let go of negative feelings and aim to spread love all around you.

5. Throat Chakra (Visuddhi)

The throat chakra is blue and is associated with self expression and communication – both written and verbal. An overactive throat chakra makes one too talkative and dominating, while an under active chakra will make one appear uncommunicative and unable to articulate his feelings, along with throat infections and voice problems.

Visualize a blue sky while meditating and feel the vibrations in your throat when you chant.

Practice expressing your feelings in a journal or diary. Write down affirmations that encourage you to speak your mind fearlessly.

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

This chakra is indigo and deals with intuition, instinct and psychic visions. When overactive, one might have hallucinations and read too much in between the lines. They might also have headaches. An underactive chakra can cause confusion, difficulties to focus and learn, and affects imagination.

The third eye chakra is on the forehead, between the eyes, but slightly higher. To open this chakra, it is recommended to do yoga poses with forward bends which increase blood flow to the head and helps to increase concentration and energy. Blind folded yoga is also recommended to increase one’s innate sense of balance and focus.

Try to spend time alone to connect with your inner self and accept that you control your destiny. Trust your intuition to guide you.

 7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The topmost chakra at the top of the head, the crown chakra is considered to be both violet and white. It corresponds to our connection with a higher power and an understanding of our place in the universe. An overactive crown chakra can give one an unbalanced sense of importance, or God complex. An underactive crown chakra can make one disturbed and negative, and confused as to the purpose of life.

Headstands are great for opening the crown chakra by increasing blood flow right to the top of the head. The corpse pose and lotus pose are also recommended for increasing awareness of your inner self.

Surround yourself with positive and inspiring pictures, music and quotes. When meditating, imagine a ray of light from your crown connecting yourself with a higher power, concentrating on your crown all the time.

Once you identify your blocked chakras, you can take steps to open them up. Just be consistent and take it easy; your chakras will open up slowly but surely and restore your body and mind to its natural healthy state.

Image Source

This article is copyright ©2013 by Omved Lifestyle Pvt.Ltd. This article may be reprinted provided that all credit information remains intact. If you wish to use this article, you must include the reprint credits that are shown on the top and the bottom of the article. If you wish to modify any aspect of the reprint credit or article, or use any other content from our blog, you must first contact us at to request written permission. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here